Warning:Overload, Warning:Overload


warning

warning

For the last week or so I have been working on a pretty significant software development project for the future. It didn’t start out that complicated – what it’s doing isn’t that complicated, but what you can do with it is complicated, and it’s doing my head in.

 

I can’t explain exactly what I’m building (it’s all top secret), but I suppose an analogy might go some way towards helping you understanding my plight – and then feeling sorry for me.

The analogy

  • Imagine a set of magic dominoes.
  • Imagine you can make the dominoes listen to each other, so perhaps when one falls over, other related ones fall over too.
  • Imagine that standing a domino back up causes a different set of related dominoes to stand back up too.
  • Now try and make a domino topple out of them all, and verify that exactly what should have happened did happen.
  • Just for fun, let the domino topple go in multiple directions at once, and verify that it’s all behaving.

I had one small bug in the code this morning – something I forgot to implement – and the whole thing ground to a halt for 2 hours while I pulled most of my hair out, kicked the desk, and stared incredulously at my own code.

My mood this morning could therefore be described thusly;

  • 9:00am – I hate computers
  • 10:00am – Oh god, what have I built
  • 11:00am – It’s going to be the death of me
  • 12:00am – YAY! I win, I rule, I am the master of all I survey

This kind of grandstanding is pretty common when I solve something complicated… usually punctuated with kicking myself away from my desk on my office chair, fists in the air, doing a mini celebration.

This morning the girl opposite nearly spat her tea out laughing at me, lol just imagine. Actually she laughed at me when she knew what I hate..😦

Errr dasar anak buah yang tidak berbakti, kerja lom lama dah mita naek jabatab jadi nyoya, lol I’m sory guys. Seems like I’m out of topic..

  1. it feels like have just found a big funny doll in front of my door’s room when i found your Phobia ! lalalalaaaaa xD
    yippiiiiiiiiiiiii !

    kan situ yg nawarin jd nyonya kecil, eke ga minta tuuuh
    nanti ql eke pergi cari majikan baru yey sedih pasti kaaan, wkwk
    jd, yey ga usah bnyak protes.
    nyonya atau tidak sama sekali.
    MENGERTI ANAK BUAH KU?

    #ngakakgulingguling xD

  2. Cartier, Celine, Chanel, Chloe, Christian Dior, Christian Louboutin, Coach, Dior Homme, Dolce & Gabbana, Fendi, Giuseppe Zanotti, Givenchy, Gucci, Hermes, Jimmy Choo, Lancel, Lanvin, Loewe, Louis Vuitton, Manolo Blahnik, Marc Jacobs, Marni, Miu Miu, Mulberry, Prada, Salvatore Ferragamo, Thomas Wylde, Tory Burch, Valentino, Versace, Vivienne Westwood, Yves Saint Laurent, 3.1 Phillip Lim, Alexander McQueen, Alexander Wang, Anya Hindmarch, Balenciaga, Bally, Bottega Veneta, Burberry

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

